New Zealand Development Scholarship Program 2013

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Government of New Zealand is providing excellent opportunities to the students of developing countries to pursue their postgraduate studies from world recognized intuitions of New Zealand through New Zealand Development Scholarships.

These scholarships provide financial aids for postgraduate education to the students from African, Asian and Latin American Countries. These countries include Africa:- Kenya,   South Africa,   Tanzania,   Zambia; Asia:- China, Mangolia, Nepal, Timor Leste;  Latin America:- Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Ecuador, Elsalvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay.

These scholarships are generally offered to study subject pertaining  to economic and social development at postgraduate level. For African and Latin American countries, preference is  given to study subjects in Agricultural development  and Geothermal development. For Asian countries, students may opt for  Agricultural sciences and economics, Veterinary sciences, Rural development, Environmental Sciences, Developmental studies etc.

Further to get eligible for the scholarships, a  student must be:-
-be a citizen of an scholarships participating country (permanent residents are not eligible to apply)
-be residing in your country of citizenship, preferably for at least two years prior to application.
-not have citizenship or permanent residence status of New Zealand, Australia, or another developed country.
-not be married or engaged to be married to a person who holds, or who is eligible to hold, citizenship or permanent residence of New Zealand, Australia or another developed country.
-be aged 17 or over before the scholarship start date.
-be applying to commence a new qualification and not be seeking funding for a qualification already in progress in New Zealand or another country.
-not have completed, or nearly completed, a qualification at a similar level (i.e. applicants must apply for a higher level qualification than any previously attained), unless strong developmental relevance is demonstrated.
-satisfy the admission requirements of the New Zealand education institution at which the qualification is to be undertaken, including English language criteria.
-have been working in your home country since completing their highest tertiary qualification gained to date, preferably for at least two years prior to application.
-be able to demonstrate a strong commitment to the relevant sector in your home country, and to your country’s development in general.
-be able to take up the scholarship in the academic year for which it is offered.

Further one must satisfy the immigration requirement for international students for entry to New Zealand. One should not hold any scholarship during this period. Also one will have to return to their home country after the completion of their scholarship.

Apart from these, institutions also have their own admission eligibility criteria. This  criteria include IELTS or TOEFL scores for English language proficiency. Most institutes require min. IELTS scores of 6.5 and with no band less than 6.0 for postgraduate level.

Further these scholarships will provide financial support for tuition, living cost in New Zealand and Airfares. Also the partners of students are eligible for a work visa that allows them to  live and work in New Zealand for the duration of Partner Study.

Application process differs from country to country. For most of the country, applicant should directly apply to the New Zealand Institutions. These institutions have their own application process and closing dates.

Eligible New Zealand education institutions are mentioned below:-

  • Auckland University of Technology
  • Lincoln University
  • Manukau Institute of Technology
  • Massey University
  • Unitec
  • University of Auckland
  • University of Canterbury
  • University of Otago
  • Victoria University of Wellington
  • University of Waikato

To apply in these institutions applicants will have to directly contact the institutions. Further the Application deadline for most of the institutions above is 31 May 2012 for applicants from Asia, Africa Region, from Bolivia, Ecuador, Honduras and Nicaragu.

The deadlines for others are:-Massey University- 1st May 2012, UNITEC- 1st June 2012, University of Auckland- 1st May2012, University of Canterbury- 1st May 2012, University of Otago-30th April, Victoria University of Wellington- 15th May 2012 for applicants from Asia and Africa regions, from Bolivia, Ecuador, Honduras and Nicaragu.

For other Latin American Countries like Peru, Chile, Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay, Paraguay, Guatemala and El Salvador, students are required to apply directly to the New Zealand Embassy in their countries. The preliminary application forms will be distributed by New Zealand Embassy, which should be submitted by 1  May 2012 ( 30 April for Brazil) to the Embassy. These application will then be selected and shortlisted.

Further, selected candidates are also required to return to the home country for minimum 2 year after completion of scholarship. Thus, these scholarship programmes  are being helping students to gain knowledge and to promote development at their home countries.

New Zealand Development Scholarship Program

Wishing you all success.

Best regards,

Vidhi Johri

Sponsored Links
Need Scholarship Help? Comment and Discuss.