AidEx Humanitarian & Development Journalism Award for International Applicants, 2017

Sponsored Links

AidEx is pleased to announce the opening of the Humanitarian & Development Journalism Award which will take place at AidEx on the 17th of November 2016.

The standard of humanitarian and development reporting influences the way the world perceives this community’s achievements. AidEx, in partnership with NRS international, wants to help celebrate the hard work done by journalists in portraying the realities of an often misunderstood sector. To be eligible for submission or nomination, the journalist should have made an outstanding contribution to the reporting of humanitarian and development issues during the past year.

The award is split into two categories:

Photojournalism: for the best photograph / set of photographs

Reporting: for print, radio, TV broadcast or digital

There will be one winner for each category. Entries will be judged by an independent panel of experts as well as a public vote by the AidEx community. Each winner will receive a trophy and €2,500, presented at AidEx at Brussels Expo on 17th November 2016. Finalist must be available to attend the awards ceremony at AidEx.

In partnership with NRS International

The award deadline is 11:59 pm GMT on 21st September 2016.
To submit an entry or nominate, please complete the online form.


• There are two award categories:
o Reporting
o Photojournalism


• Journalists can either submit their own work or have their work nominated by a third party.
• To be eligible for submission or nomination, the journalism should make an outstanding contribution to the reporting of humanitarian and development issues in at least one of the following ways and have been published in the calendar year of 2015
o investigated and reported on humanitarian and development issues
o encouraged debate on humanitarian and development issues
o raised awareness of humanitarian and development needs and responses
o recognized unsung heroes in the humanitarian and development sector
o brought the voice of affected communities to decision makers
o encouraged greater understanding of and respect for humanitarianism and development
• There are no geographic limitations – journalism regarding any country or region will be considered
• Print, radio, TV broadcast, and digital reporting are eligible for the Reporting Award.
• Any photograph published in 2015 which portrays the work or situation of those in need or NGOs and INGOs

• There are no entry fees for this competition.


• There will be one winner for each award. The winners will receive a trophy and €2500 at the award conferring ceremony during the AidEx event in Brussels, 17 November 2016.
• €250 towards the cost of travel or accommodation for each finalist present at the event will be reimbursed after the event.


• In order to be considered, entries must be received through the online submission form. Entries will not be considered if received through any other channel.
• We can accept a maximum of three entries from each submitting entity. There is no limit to the number of entries that can be nominated by a third party.
• Up to five individuals may be named on a team entry; they should be the strongest contributors to the work. If a team entry wins, the prize will be split equally between team members
• We accept entries in all languages but require English translation for each entry

Scholarship Link

, , ,

Sponsored Links
Need Scholarship Help? Comment and Discuss.