Leakey Foundation Fellowships for Students of Developing Countries to Study Abroad, 2017

The Leakey Foundation is inviting applications for Franklin Mosher Baldwin Memorial Fellowships for the year 2017. These fellowships are intended for scholars and students of a developing country who wish to obtain an advanced degree from an institution outside the student’s home country.

The mission of The Leakey Foundation is to increase scientific knowledge, education, and public understanding of human origins, evolution, behaviour, and survival. The Leakey Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit dedicated to funding scientific research that explores the many facets of human origins and sharing the results of this research through our innovative educational programs.

Course Level: Fellowships are awarded for a program related to the study of human origins or evolution.

Study Subject: Fellowships are available for advanced special training or studies leading towards an M.A or PhD.

Scholarship Award: The maximum award is limited to $15,000 per year.

Number of Scholarships: Not Known

Scholarship can be taken in Study Abroad

Eligibility: The following criteria must be met in order for applicants to be eligible for scholarship:

Only scholars with citizenship in a developing country are eligible.
The applicant must have a Home Sponsor who is a member of the institution where the applicant is affiliated in the home country, as well as a Host Sponsor who is a member of the institution which the candidate plans to pursue training. Should an award be made, the Host Sponsor must be willing to assume responsibility for overseeing the candidate’s training. Since the Baldwin Fellowship is intended to be a partnership between the candidate and both the Home and Host Institutions, it is expected that candidates will be offered support by these institutions in the form of financial assistance and, upon completion of training, employment in the home country.

Nationality: Citizens of a developing country (Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize ,Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Costa Rica, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Democratic People’s Public of Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Republic of Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palau Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Rwanda, Samoa, São Tomé & Príncipe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Lucia St. Vincent and the Grenadines Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe) can apply for these fellowships.

College Admission Requirement

Entrance Requirements: Applicants must have their previous degree.

English language Requirements: Applicants from outside the home country will often need to meet specific English language/other language requirements in order to be able to study there.

Developing Countries Scholarships

How to Apply: Applications must be sent to our office:

  • as a PDF attachment emailed to grants-at-leakeyfoundation.org
  • via real mail
  • or both ways

Recipients of Baldwin Fellowships may request a second-year renewal of their award unless the Baldwin Fellowship has been designated as a one-time award. Baldwin Fellows must notify the Foundation by letter of their intent to apply for a second-year renewal by February 1st and submit an application form by March 1st. Both of these items should be emailed as a .pdf attachment to grants-at-leakeyfoundation.org. By March 1st the following items must be submitted:

  • Application Form
  • Progress Report from the Baldwin Fellow
  • Accounting Statement for Leakey Foundation funds already expended (signed by Host Sponsor and Baldwin Fellow)
  • A copy of the Baldwin Fellow’s current transcript (if registered for course work)
  • A Progress Report/Letter of Evaluation from Host Sponsor

Application Form

Application Deadline: There are two different deadlines depending on whether you have previously received a Baldwin Fellowship:

New Applicants: February 15, 2017
Returning Applicants: March 1st, 2017

Scholarship Link

, , , , , , ,

Sponsored Links
Need Scholarship Help? Comment and Discuss.