Home » Blog » 2012 African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Continental Awards, Uganda

2012 African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Continental Awards, Uganda

African Union Commission offers Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Continental Awards for African scientists from African Union AU Member States in the fields of Life and Earth Science and Basic Science, Technology and Innovation, Uganda 2012

Study Subject(s):Life and Earth Science and Basic Science, Technology and Innovation
Course Level:Research
Scholarship Provider: African Union Commission
Scholarship can be taken at: Uganda

-The African Union Scientific Awards will be awarded to African scientists who have remarkable achievements, demonstrated by number of publications, number of research graduate students, applicability of the scientific work to Africa’s challenges, and its patentability
-Only nationals of the African Union (AU) Member States are eligible to participate in these Awards
-For the African Union Regional Scientific Award for Women, applicants should have at least ten (10) SCI publications
-For the Continental applicants should have at least twenty (20) SCI publications.

Scholarship Open for International Students: Yes

Scholarship Open for Students of Following Countries:Central African Region: Burundi,Cameroon,Central African Republic,Chad, Congo, Congo (DRC), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Sao Tome & Principe.Eastern Region:Comoros,Djibouti,Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia,Sudan,Tanzania,Uganda. Northern Region: Algeria, Egypt, Libya,Mauritania,Tunisia, SADR. Southern Region: Angola,Botswana,Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa,Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe. Western Region:  Benin,Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau,Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

Scholarship Description: The Commission of the African Union is committed to support the use and development of science in Africa and has initiated with its key development partners the African Union Scientific Award Programme. In July 2010, the African Union Heads of State and Government took a decision to rename this Programme as “African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards”. This decision reflects and underscores a success story and the critical role of science and technology in the development and integration of Africa. The objective of this programme is to award Cash Prizes and Recognition Certificates to excelling African researchers for their achievements in Earth and Life Sciences, and Basic, Science, Technology and Innovation sectors.The value of the Continental Scientific Award shall be US$100,000 (One hundred thousand US Dollars for each scientific sector) conferred by the African Union Commission on the award winners in each sector.

How to Apply: By Post

Scholarship Application Deadline: 9th of September each year

Further Scholarship Information and Application