Home » Blog » Mwalimu Nyerere African Union Scholarship Scheme for Physical Disabled Students, 2015

Mwalimu Nyerere African Union Scholarship Scheme for Physical Disabled Students, 2015

Applications are invited for Mwalimu Nyerere African Union Scholarship Scheme from young African students with permanent physical disabilities. Scholarships are awarded to undertake a full time Masters programme in African Universities which have appropriate facilities and good services for the disabled students. Applicants must be a Citizen of an African Union Member State. Physical disabilities include: visual impairments (partial or total loss of sight, blindness), Hearing impairments (hardness of hearing, deafness) and Mobility impairments (partial or total physical functional limitation).

Study Subject(s): Scholarships are awarded in the following fields of study: Social Sciences, Natural Sciences, Engineering, Mathematics, Education Sciences and Sports Sciences.
Course Level: Scholarships are available to undertake a full time Masters programme in a recognized university of an African Union Member State.
Scholarship Provider: Department of Human Resources, Science and Technology, African Union Commission
Scholarship can be taken at: African Union Member State

Eligibility: To be eligible for the Special Scholarship, a candidate must:
-Be a Citizen of an African Union Member State.
-Have a physical disability.
-Be under the age of thirty five (35) years.
-Be a holder of a Bachelor’s Degree in the relevant field, at the level of Upper Second Class Honours. The degree must be from a reputable University.
-Have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement as evidenced by academic transcripts, and academic awards if any.
-Have proof of admission to undertake a full time Masters programme in a recognized university of an African Union Member State.
-Be willing to commit to work in an African Union Member State on completion of studies for at least three (3) years.


Scholarship Open for International Students: Citizens of an African Union Member State (Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of the Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia and Zimbabwe) are eligible to apply to apply for these scholarships.

Scholarship Description: The Mwalimu Nyerere African Union Scholarship Scheme was launched in 2007 with the aim of contributing to the production and retention of high calibre African human capital for sustainable development of the continent in critical development areas, while promoting regional integration through intra-African mobility of students. The Scholarship Scheme is intended to enable young Africans to study in leading African Universities with a binding agreement that beneficiaries will work in an African country for at least the same duration of scholarship period after graduation.

Number of award(s): Not Known

Duration of award(s): Scholarship is awarded for maximum for two academic years.

What does it cover? The scholarship award covers the following:
-Tuition Fees: Maximum for two academic years.
-Stipend: 500 US$ monthly, to support living expenses such as housing, food, utilities, local transportation and medication.
-Book Allowance: An allowance of 500 US$ per year for the purchase of books and other supplies.
-Air ticket: A round-trip economy fare for the most direct route between the beneficiary’s home country and the study destination of host Institute.
-Travel Allowance: One-off payment of 250 US$ to contribute towards ground transportation from airport and settling-in costs
-One-off payment of 350 US$ to assist with shipping and other terminal expenses; upon departure from the host Institution after successful completion of the study.
-Computer Allowance: One-off payment of 1,000 US$ for the purchase of laptop computer and accessories

Selection Criteria: Not Known

Notification: Not Known

How to Apply: Applicants must scan and produce electronic copies of all the below documents (converted to PDF format) and send via e-mail. In addition two (2) sets of hard copies of the below documents must be sent by post. The applicants should submit their formal application which should include the following:
-Completed application form
-Recent passport-size photograph
-Summarized CV with names and contacts of three referees.
-Certified copies of academic certificates and transcripts
-Certified copies of Passport or national Identity Card indicating citizenship
-Physician’s letter confirming physical disability of the applicant.
-Copy of admission letter from a recognized African University viii. Two (2) Reference Letters with contact addresses.
-An essay of not more than 500 words that explains why the candidate has chosen his/her particular field of study and its importance to Africa’s development.

Scholarship Application Deadline: The application deadline is 31st March 2015.

Further Official Scholarship Information and Application


Need Scholarship Help? Comment and Discuss.