Home » Blog » Commonwealth Youth Awards for Excellence in Development Work in UK, 2013

Commonwealth Youth Awards for Excellence in Development Work in UK, 2013

Each year CYP of the Commonwealth Secretariat funds Commonwealth Youth Awards in UK. Students of commonwealth countries are eligible for this award. Young people between 15 and 29 years are eligible to apply. Applicants must be involved in development work. Four finalists per Commonwealth region are selected for Regional Winner Award and invited at an official ceremony. Top regional winner applicant receiving the Pan Commonwealth Award. Send your application electronically.

Study Subject(s): The award is provided to study in Agriculture, small enterprise, skills training; Arts and culture; Education, peer education; Enterprise development/youth employment; Climate change/environment protection; Health and well being, including work on HIV/AIDS ; Human rights and democracy; Information and communications technology; Journalism, media, public awareness; Peace building; Science and Technology; Sport for Development and Peace; Sustainable livelihoods and poverty reduction.
Course Level: This award is for youth workers for driving innovative projects.
Scholarship Provider: Commonwealth Youth Programme (CYP) of the Commonwealth Secretariat.
Scholarship can be taken at: UK

User Review
0 (0 votes)

Eligibility: Young people from the Commonwealth aged between 15 and 29 years are eligible for the awards. Grants will be awarded to advance the work of the winners’ projects, with support from CYP on the best way to use funding.

Scholarship Open for Students of Following Countries: The Students of Commonwealth Countries ( Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, The Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Cameroon, Canada, Cayman Islands, Cyprus, Dominica, Falkland Islands, The Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, United Kingdom, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British), Zambia) can also apply for this UK Award.

Scholarship Description: The Commonwealth Youth Programme (CYP), promotes the awards as an attempt to raise the profile and highlight the contribution of young people who are integrally involved in the process of change and are working side by side with decision-makers for more secure future. The awards also give international, regional and national recognition to the young men and women who are selected.

Number of awards offered: 16 regional finalists each year, four from each region. There will be four finalists per Commonwealth region with the top entry from each region receiving a Regional Winner Award and the top regional winner receiving the Pan Commonwealth Award.

Duration of award(s): Not Known

What does it cover? The regional finalists will each receive a £1,000 grant, a trophy and a certificate. The regional winners will receive an additional £2000, a trophy and a certificate and the Pan Commonwealth winner will receive an extra £2000, a trophy and a certificate. The Regional Winners from each region will be invited to receive their awards at an official ceremony.

Selection Criteria: Quality of impact;
· Level of innovation/fresh approaches to problem-solving;
· Quality of achievement by the nominee;
· Quality of the evidence provided.
· Sustainability: building the capacity of future generations to meet their own needs.

Notification:Finalists will be contacted directly. If applicants do not hear from Commonwealth Secretariat, it means that their nomination has not been successful. Regional finalists will be  announced on 30 August 2013.

How to Apply: The mode of applying is electronically.

Scholarship Application Deadline: The deadline for applications is 30th June 2013.

Further Official Scholarship Information and Application