Home » Blog » Commonwealth Youth Awards in UK, 2018

Commonwealth Youth Awards in UK, 2018

Each year CYP of the Commonwealth Secretariat funds Commonwealth Youth Awards for the students of Commonwealth countries.

The Commonwealth Youth Awards for Excellence in Development Work aims to raise the profile and highlight the contribution young people make to achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG’s).

Awards will be decided on the basis of Level of Impact; Level of innovation/fresh approaches to problem-solving; Quality of achievement; Quality of the evidence provided and Sustainability.

Scholarship Description: 

  • Applications deadline: December 14, 2017
  • Course Level: This award is presented to young people who are taking action to address development challenges in the world today from poverty, unemployment, climate change, violent extremism, lack of access to education etc. and are making a remarkable difference in the lives of the people in their local community, village, province, country, region and world at large.
  • Study Subject: This special edition of the awards will coincide with the Commonwealth Youth Forum (CYF) preceding the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in London in April 2018 under the theme “Towards a Common Future”. It will highlight the contribution that young people are making throughout the Commonwealth, in areas such as poverty alleviation, conflict resolution and prevention, democracy and environmental preservation.
  • Scholarship Award: There will be four finalists per Commonwealth region with the top entry receiving the Regional Winner Award and the top regional winner receiving the Pan-Commonwealth Award and to be named the Commonwealth Young Person of the Year 2018.

The 16 Regional finalists will each receive a £1,000 grant, a trophy and a certificate.

The 4 Regional Winners will receive an additional £2,000 (a total of £3,000) a trophy and a certificate

The Pan-Commonwealth Winner will receive an additional £2000 (a total of £5,000) a trophy and a certificate.

The 4 Regional Winners will be invited to receive their awards at an official ceremony in London, the United Kingdom during the Commonwealth Youth Forum, 16-18 April 2018.

  • Nationality: Students from Commonwealth countries are eligible.
  • Number of Scholarships: Young people aged 15 to 29 from Commonwealth member countries are eligible to apply for the awards. A total of 16 finalists will be shortlisted from four Commonwealth regional categories.
  • Scholarship can be taken in the UK

Eligibility for the Scholarship: 

Eligible Countries: Fellows must be from eligible Commonwealth countries:

List of Countries: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British), Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Entrance Requirements:

  • The nominee must have been engaged in development work for more than 12 months, either in a professional or voluntary capacity;
  • The nominee must be a Commonwealth citizen and the development work must be taking place in a Commonwealth member country;
  • The nominee should not be older than 29 on 31 December 2017;
  • Individuals can nominate themselves or be nominated by someone who can accurately describe their development work ++
  • The winners must agree to take part in publicity generated by the Commonwealth.

English Language Requirements: Applicants whose first language is not English are usually required to provide evidence of proficiency in English at the higher level required by the University.

Developing Countries Scholarships

Application Procedure: 

How to Apply: The mode of applying is electronically.

Online Application

Scholarship Link