Home » Blog » Scholarships for European Master’s Course in Software Engineering (EMSE), 2013-2015

Scholarships for European Master’s Course in Software Engineering (EMSE), 2013-2015

European Commission/EACEA with the Erasmus Mundus Brand Name (EMBN) is offering scholarships for EU and Non EU students. These scholarships are available to pursue master program in computer science at Free University of Bozen-Bolzano (Italy) and University of Kaiserslautern (Germany) and Software Engineering at Blekinge Institute of Technology (Sweden). Successful candidates will be awarded a double degree one for each university they have visited.  The scholarships will cover your partial tuition fees for two years.

Study Subject(s): Computer Science, Software Engineering, Computer Science and other related subjects.
Course Level: The official names of the awarded degrees are:
– a Master of Science in Computer Science (Laurea Magistrale) from the Free University of Bozen-Bolzano or
– a Master of Science in Software Engineering from the Blekinge Institute of Technology or
– a Master of Science in Computer Science from the University of Kaiserslautern
Scholarship Provider: Erasmus Mundus
Scholarship can be taken at: Italy, Sweden and Germany

Students are accepted in the program regardless of sex, age, or nationality.
In order to be considered for the selection all students must fulfill the following admission requirements:
-Respect the application deadline.
-Have been awarded a BSc in Software Engineering, Computer Science or Computer Engineering or degrees with equivalent skills in the three areas: Software Engineering, Computer Science or Computer Engineering.
-Provide proof of proficiency in English language proved by TOEFL (>550 PB; > 213CB; >81 IB), IELTS (>6) or equivalent certificate. An English proficiency certificate is not required in case of native speakers who come from countries where English is an official language. The consortium can request a further personal interview to assess the student’s English level.

Scholarship Open for International Students: EU and Non EU students can apply for the scholarship.

Scholarship Description: The Consortium of the Free University of Bozen-Bolzano (Italy), the Blekinge Tekniska Högskola (Sweden), and the Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (Germany) offer a two year (120 ECTS credits) Joint Masters Programme, named European Master Course in Software Engineering (EMSE). EMSE aims at training students in emerging research domains that shape the future of Software Engineering. It prepares students for industry and research carriers as PhD programmes. After completing the EMSE studies the student will have gained expertise, competence, and practical skills on software management and quality, innovation and creativity, software process and product standards, social and economic market of IT, and teamwork. The international dimension of the Masters Course guarantees that students familiarise with different educational methods and a multicultures. Since 2006 EMSE has been funded by the Erasmus Mundus Programme. However, as a result of the highly competitive nature of the selection and the limited budget available, the course was not re-selected for funding, but has demonstrated high quality throughout, and has therefore been awarded by the European Commission/EACEA with the Erasmus Mundus Brand Name (EMBN) by which it commits itself to maintain the requirements and level of excellence expected from an Erasmus Mundus Masters Course.

Number of awards offered:
up to are reserved to students visiting FUB and UNIKL
– up to 4 are reserved to students visiting BTH and FUB or UNIKL
-up to 1 is reserved to NON EU students visiting FUB or UNIKL and then BTH.

Duration of award(s): Scholarship is offered for two years.

What does it cover?
-up to 3 (from 21,450 to 24,000 € per two year)
-up to 4 (from 11,475 to 15.420 € per two year)
-up to 1 worth of € 3,420.

Selection Criteria: Applicants that fulfill the admission criteria will be ranked according to the selection criteria. A ranking list and a reserve list will be defined for each learning path according to the following criteria:
– Language skills
– Type of entrance qualification
– Academic records
– Work experience and professional qualifications
– Motivation and willingness.

Notification: Notification of admission and scholarships award is March 15th, 2013 and notification to the students of the reserve list is March 21st, 2013.

How to Apply: The application is submitted online at the central EMSE website.

Scholarship Application Deadline: Submission closing date for NON-EU and EU applicants is February 25th, 2013 and July 31st, 2013 for application open on May 2nd, 2013.

Further Scholarship Information and Application

Similar Post(s):
Master’s Scholarships
Scholarship for German Students

Need Scholarship Help? Comment and Discuss.