UNESCO/POLAND Co-Sponsored Fellowships Programme in Engineering, 2015

Sponsored Links

Applications are invited for UNESCO/POLAND Co-Sponsored Research Fellowships. Up to forty-five (45) fellowships will be awarded for a period of six (6) months duration starting on 1st October 2015. To be eligible for these fellowships, applicants must hold Bachelor’s or M.Sc. degrees and must not be more than 45 years of age. Beneficiaries of these fellowships will be given the opportunity to undertake an individual research programme in the field of Science, Technology and Engineering. The application deadline is 12 June 2015.

Study Subject(s): Fellowships are awarded in the field of Science, Technology and Engineering (Automation in Mining Devices, Automation in Transportation, Decision Engineering, Drilling Engineering, Economic Geology, Economic Sociology and Economics, Gas Engineering, Geoengineering, Geology and Mining, Geotourism, Iron Metallurgy, Materials Science and Ceramics, Metallurgy, Mining and Geology, Mining devises, Mining Geophysics, Nanomaterial in Sensor Technology, Safety and Reliability, Software Engineering, Solid State Physics and Transport Engineering).
Course Level: Fellowships are available to undertake an individual research programme.
Scholarship Provider: Polish National Commission for UNESCO and the UNESCO Chair for Science, Technology and Engineering.
Scholarship can be taken at: Poland

-Hold the Bachelor’s or M.Sc. degrees;
-Be proficient in reading and writing English;
-Be not more than 45 years of age; and,
-Be in good health, both physically and mentally.
-Be a member of Africa, Asia and the Pacific, Latin America and the Caribbean.

Scholarship Open for International Students: Students from Africa (46 Member States: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra, Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Swaziland, Togo, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.); ASIA and the PACIFIC (36 Member States and 2 Associated Members): Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam UNESCOCambodia, China, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Niue, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste ,Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam and LATIN AMERICA and the CARIBBEAN (31 Member States): Argentina, Barbados ,Belize, Bolivia (Plurinational State of) Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) can apply for these UNESCO fellowships.

Scholarship Description: With a view to promoting human resource capacities in the developing countries and to enhancing international understanding and friendship among nations and the people of Poland, the Polish National Commission for UNESCO and the UNESCO Chair for Science, Technology, and Engineering Education at the AGH University of Science and Technology in Krakow have placed forty-five (45) fellowships of six (6) months duration each, in Poland, starting on 1 October 2015. The beneficiaries of these fellowships will be given the opportunity to undertake an individual research programme in the field of Science, Technology and Engineering.

Number of award(s): Up to forty five (45) research fellowships will be awarded.

Duration of award(s): Fellowships will be available for six months duration starting on 1st October 2015.

What does it cover?
-Free tuition and access to the university facilities based on the local regulations.
-Accommodation at the AGH UST Student Campus organised for fellows by the UNESCO AGH Chair.
-Monthly allowance of 1350 PLN (approximately US $450) corresponding to the salary of a local junior research fellow. Thus, all living expenses and accommodation in Poland are to be borne by the fellow with this allowance; and;
-A one especial allowance of 1350 PLN to be paid upon arrival in Poland, this sum will cover different activities related to your stay in Krakow, such as an obligatory medical check-up upon arrival (in accordance with the internal regulations for all students); cultural, historical and/or touristic visits, conferences, workshops, and seminars related to your studies.
-No provision to finance or lodge family members is made. At the end of the research studies, the beneficiaries will receive a certificate attesting to their attendance at the host institution, this certificate will be given after receipt of the requested reports and financial clearance from the Institution.
Facilities offered by UNESCO:
-International travel expenses: (by the most direct, economical route) from the beneficiary’s country to and from Poland will be covered by UNESCO under its Regular Programme Budget.
-Health insurance for fellowship beneficiaries who are declared medically fit: UNESCO fellowship holders may be covered by a health insurance policy, taken-out by the Organization for the duration of fellowship. The costs of this health insurance is subscribed to and covered by UNESCO on behalf of awarded fellows.

Selection Criteria: Not Known

Notification: Only the selected candidates will receive a letter through their respective National Commissions for UNESCO. All application should be endorsed by the National Commission from the country of the candidate.

How to Apply: Candidatures should be submitted per invited Member State. Original applications in duplicate must be channeled through the National Commission for UNESCO of the candidate’s country and communicated to Mr Stoyan Bantchev, Chief, Participation programme and Fellowships Section, by 12 June 2015 at the latest to UNESCO mailing address. An advance copy of the application should be sent by fax or scanned by e-mail. Applications should have imperatively the following attachments in duplicate:
-Two photographs attached to the applications (4×6 cm);
-Certified copies (in English) of Bachelor’s or Master’s Degree obtained; and,
-UNESCO certificate of language knowledge, duly completed by a relevant authority, if the mother tongue of the candidate is not English.
-Two letters of recommendation from someone related to the candidate’s work, as well confirming the candidate’s qualifications.

UNESCO Application Form

Scholarship Application Deadline: The application deadline is 12 June 2015.

Further Official Scholarship Information and Application

, , , , , , , ,

Sponsored Links
Need Scholarship Help? Comment and Discuss.