Home » Blog » Australia Awards–Africa Scholarships for Masters Students, 2020

Australia Awards–Africa Scholarships for Masters Students, 2019

Australia Awards–Africa Scholarships for Masters Students, 2020

Australian Government is offering Australia Awards scholarships for African students. These opportunities are available for pursuing master’s degree program commencing in 2020.

Australia Awards aim to promote knowledge, education links and enduring ties between Australia and neighbors through Australia’s extensive programs. The initiative aims to build a new generation of global leaders with strong links to Australia.



  • Award
  • Application Process
  • Clarity of Information


Worthy opportunity for international candidates.

User Review
0 (0 votes)

Australia Awards are the flagship of the Australian development cooperation program and are an important component of Australia’s investment in education. Scholarships have been an important component of the Australian Government’s efforts to reduce poverty and achieve sustainable development since the 1950s.

Application Deadline: December 6, 2019

Brief Description

University or Organization: Australian Government
Department: NA
Course Level: Masters level
Award: AUD 30,000
Access Mode: Online
Number of Awards: NA
Nationality: International Students
The program can be taken in Australia


  • Eligible Countries: The grant is open to citizens of Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroun, Cape Verde, Comoros, Congo(Republic of), Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Mauritania, Niger, North Sudan, Republic of Guinea and South Sudan to study the aforementioned courses at African or Australian Universities.
  • Entrance Requirements:
    • The eligibility varies by country (see link below for specific country eligibility criteria)
    • You must be at least 25 and not more than 50 years of age at the date of your application.
    • You must have at least three (3) years’ relevant post-graduate work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to your proposed field of study and to your employment organization type (e.g. public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience, and so on). Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience.
    • The applicant possesses, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) from a recognized Institution of at least 4 years in length with at least a 3rd Class Pass.
    • Awards are provided in one of the priority fields of study: Agricultural Productivity, Extractives, Public Policy (particularly infrastructure and economic policy, including trade policy).
    • Public sector candidates must comply with the Government of Nigeria regulations for government employees wishing to apply for programmes .
    • Public sector, private sector, and civil society candidates must provide evidence of completion of the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) when they apply.
    • Applicant must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree.
    • Applicant must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award.
    • Applicant must meet the general minimum eligibility criteria for Australia Awards Scholarships – refer to the Australia Awards Scholarships policy handbook.

masters programmes

How to Apply

  • How to Apply: The mode of applying is online.
  • Language Requirements: Students must have a minimum English language proficiency equivalent to an overall IELTS score of 5.0 with no band score lower than 4.5. (Equivalent TOEFL scores are also accepted). All studies undertaken under Australia Awards are in English and, for postgraduate studies at an Australian University, a high level of English proficiency is required.  English requirements for Masters Awards: Candidates for Masters Awards may be required to sit a language proficiency test as part of the selection and course placement process. Language proficiency is tested through the International English Language.


  • For holders of an Australia Awards masters programme, entitlements include the full costs of tuition fees for up to two years for a Masters award.
  • An economy class flight to and from Australia is provided and an approximate annual stipend of AUD 30,000 to cover living expenses whilst on an award in Australia.
  • Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) is also provided to cover Awardee’s basic medical costs.
  • A one-off Establishment Allowance of AUD 5,000 is payable to assist with the costs of starting life in Australia and commencing your course (e.g. course books and materials, rental deposits, household items etc.).
  • Awardees, whose families remain in their home country, may be entitled to a reunion airfare to allow them to travel home midway through the course, but this is only available to Awardees whose course is for 2 years or longer.

Apply Now