Home » About Scholarships » UK Government’s Global Scholarship Programme

UK Government’s Global Scholarship Programme

Fully Funded Chevening Scholarships For One Year Masters In Any Subject

Application Deadline For 2016/2017 is November 3, 2015

Chevening The studentships are offered under the prominent scholarship scheme which was commenced in 1984 as the Foreign and Commonwealth Office Awards Scheme (FCOAS). This scholarship programme was started to enable global leaders to study in UK. Global Chevening scholars move to the UK to study for one year at Master‡s level.

User Review
0 (0 votes)

This scholarship programme is funded by UK Government‡s Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) and partner organizations, The Chevening Secretariat administers the awards on behalf of the FCO. Each year students from 144 countries having leadership qualities are welcomed to pursue their postgraduate studies in UK.

Two types of awards are offered by Chevening, i.e. Scholarships and Fellowships. The awardees are personally selected by British Embassies and High Commissions throughout the world. Chevening opportunities are offered for postgraduate studies whereas Chevening Fellowships are offered to mid-career professionals for tailored short courses at UK universities.

Each year Chevening offers a distinctive opportunity to global future leaders, influencers, and decision-makers to cultivate professionally and educationally network by building lasting positive relationships with the UK and also to experience UK culture. The Number of Awards varies from country to country. There are approximately 1,500 Chevening Scholarships on offer globally for the 2016/2017 academic cycle.  Where more than thirty opportunities are currently awarded to candidates from India and China and Twenty or more to candidates from Egypt, South Korea, Indonesia, Pakistan, Mexico and Brazil very few to Australia and Canada.

These postgraduate placements allow students from developing nations to access British tertiary education institutions. This is somehow itself a great opportunity to pursue higher education in the UK institutions, some of which are of a very high standard as determined by international rankings.

A number of universities, governments and private sector organizations globally have teamed up with Chevening to build bridges between worldwide countries to enhance education and prepare global leaders.

A Chevening Scholars is expected to have at least two years‡ work experience (or equivalent) prior to applying for a scholarship.

Applicants have to select three courses carefully as you won’t be able to change them after submitting you application.

Eligibility Criteria For Chevening Scholarships

To be eligible for a Chevening Scholarship applicant must:
-Be a citizen of a Chevening-eligible country.
-Return to your country of citizenship for a minimum of two years after your scholarship has ended
-Have an undergraduate degree that will enable you to gain entry to a post-graduate programme at a UK university. This is typically equivalent to an upper second-class 2:1 honours degree in the UK
-Have at least two years‡ work experience
-Apply to three different eligible UK university courses and have received an unconditional offer from one of these choices by 14 July 2016
-Meet the Chevening English language requirement by 14 July 2016

Chevening Scholarships‡ Offer

A full Chevening Award normally comprises:
-university tuition fees
-a monthly stipend
-travel costs to and from the UK
-an arrival allowance
-a homeward departure allowance
-a thesis grant
-a grant for study materials
-a study travel allowance
-the cost of one visa application
-a travel grant to attend Chevening events in the UK

Things To Remember

-You can’t apply for a Chevening Award if you have previously received funding from another UK government award programme.
-Chevening Alumni are not eligible to apply for a further scholarship.
-You must hold a degree at the time of application.
-You can only apply to the country programme where you have citizenship rights.
-You can only submit one application.

Application Procedure

Applications for Chevening Awards can only be submitted using the Chevening online application system, available through the ‘apply’ button on your country page.

Prior to starting your application for a Chevening Scholarship please ensure you have the following ready:

-Two references to be provided in a letter format and written in English
-Valid passport/national ID card
-University transcripts (undergraduate, postgraduate)
-Three different UK Master’s course choices

Please note that only documents in PDF format can be uploaded and documents cannot be over 5MB in size.

-English language (if already met the requirements)
-UK Master’s university offer (if already met the requirements)

You can submit your initial application without these optional documents and upload them to your application at any point up to 14 July 2016.

Chevening Scholarships’ Timeline For 2016/2017

-Early November 2015 : Sifting of applications against eligibility criteria
-November to December 2015 : Independent reading committees assess eligible applications
-January to early February 2016 : Candidates are shortlisted for interview
-By mid-February 2016 : Candidates are notified that they have been selected for interview
-29 February to 29 April 2016 : Interview period
-Early June 2016 : Announcement of interview results
-14 July 2016 : Deadline for university unconditional offers
-14 July 2016 : Deadline for meeting English language requirement
-September/October 2016 : 2016/2017 Chevening Scholars commence their studies in the UK

The objective of the Chevening Scholarships programme is to provide cultural, social, political, and sporting experiential learning and networking opportunities for scholars outside of their academic responsibilities.

For detailed information go through Chevening site.