Home » Awards and Grants » European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards, 2017

European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards, 2017


The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage was launched in 2002 by the European Commission as part of the implementation of the Culture Programme, which has now been succeeded by the Creative Europe Programme. Europa Nostra, the Voice of Cultural Heritage in Europe, was reappointed in 2014 to run this awards scheme on the basis of its long experience in publicly recognising individual or joint excellence in the field of cultural heritage at a European level. The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards is granted annually to identify and promote best practices in the conservation of tangible and intangible cultural heritage, to stimulate the transfrontier exchanges of knowledge and experience throughout Europe, to enhance public awareness and appreciation of Europe’s cultural heritage, and to encourage further excellent initiatives through the power of example.

User Review
0 (0 votes)

Outstanding heritage achievements will be awarded in the following categories:

  • Conservation
  • Research
  • Dedicated service by individuals or organisations
  • Education, training and awareness-raising

In 2017, the Awards will be given to up to 30 remarkable heritage projects and initiatives in four categories. Up to seven will be selected as Grand Prix winners and receive €10,000 each. One will get the Public Choice Award.

Entries may be submitted from the countries that take part in the Creative Europe programme of the European Commission.

Countries eligible for the EU Prize:

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, FYROM, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey and United Kingdom.

You can still apply for a Europa Nostra Award if your country is not on the list of eligible countries.

Countries eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards only:

Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, the Holy See, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Monaco, the Russian Federation, San Marino, Switzerland, and Ukraine.


  • Architectural Heritage: single buildings or groups of buildings in rural or urban setting;
  • Building additions or alterations, or new building projects within historic areas;
  • Industrial and engineering structures and sites;
  • Cultural landscapes: historic urban environments or townscapes, city or town squares, and streetscapes;
  • Historic parks and gardens, larger areas of designed landscape or of cultural, environmental and/or agricultural significance;
  • Archaeological sites, including underwater archaeology;
  • Works of art and collections: collections of artistic and historic significance or old works of art;
  • Intangible cultural heritage as practices, representations, expressions, as well as the knowledge and skills that communities, groups and, in some cases, individuals recognise as part of their cultural heritage;
  • Digitisation projects of cultural heritage.


EU Prize  

Europa Nostra Awards

Closing Date: 1 October 2016

Submit your project and share your success!

Scholarship Link