Home » Austria Scholarships » ICO-Fred Hollows Foundation One-Year Subspecialty Fellowships for Developing Countries, 2015

ICO-Fred Hollows Foundation One-Year Subspecialty Fellowships for Developing Countries, 2015

The International Council of Ophthalmology is offering training fellowships to young ophthalmologists from developing countries. This fellowship provides support for training in any ophthalmology subspecialties at a designated ICO Fellowship Training Center. The fellowships will include US$24,000 for one year to cover round-trip travel, living expenses and professional expenses. Fellowships commence the year following application. Application deadline is September 30, 2014.

Study Subject(s): Fellowships are open for training in any ophthalmology subspecialties offered by a designated ICO Fellowship Training Center.
Course Level: Fellowships provide support to young ophthalmologists for one year of training at a designated ICO Fellowship Training Center.
Scholarship Provider: International Council of Ophthalmology
Scholarship can be taken at: Turkey, Italy, Spain, Austria, Brazil, United Kingdom, Germany, United States and Australia.

User Review
0 (0 votes)

The applicant must reside in a developing country.
-Applicant must be under 40 years of age at the time of applying.
-He or she must be a graduate of an ophthalmology residency training program.
-Specialist exam in ophthalmology must be successfully passed.
-Applicant must be recommended by the ophthalmology head of a teaching institution or public service hospital in a developing country.
-He or she must be accepted for ophthalmology subspecialty fellowship, one year in duration, at an advanced ophthalmology training center.
-Applicant must be reasonably fluent in the language of the fellowship training center.
-He or she must be committed to return to a position at a teaching institution or public service hospital in the fellow’s home country.
-Candidates who have passed the ICO Examinations in Basic Science, Optics, or Clinical Sciences will receive special consideration.
-Applicants from countries with ophthalmologic societies that are Members of the ICO will receive special consideration.

Scholarship Open for International Students: Citizens of developing countries (Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, India, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico,  Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint- Vincent and the Grenadines, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe) can apply for these fellowships.

Scholarship Description: The International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) Fellowships Program was organized to help promising young ophthalmologists from developing countries improve their practical skills and broaden their perspectives of ophthalmology. Fellows are expected to bring the acquired knowledge and skills back to their home countries and take part in programs to preserve vision and prevent blindness.

Number of award(s): Two fellowships will be awarded each year.

Duration of award(s): Fellowships are awarded for one year.

What does it cover? The fellowships will include US$24, 000 for one year to cover round-trip travel, living expenses and professional expenses.

Notification: Applicants will be notified by no later than January.

How to Apply: The mode of applying is online.

Scholarship Application Deadline: Application deadline is September 30, 2014.

Further Scholarship Information and Application