Home » Scholarships for Developing Countries Students » 13 ICTP PhD Scholarships at University of Trieste in Italy, 2017-2018

13 ICTP PhD Scholarships at University of Trieste in Italy, 2017-2018

The University of Trieste’s Graduate Program in Physics is currently accepting applications for its 13 PhD Scholarships one of which is funded by ICTP for applicants from developing countries for a 2017-2018 academic year.

For more than 50 years, the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) has been a driving force behind global efforts to advance scientific expertise in the developing world.

  • Award
  • Application Process
  • Clarity of Information


Best offer for aspirants.

User Review
0 (0 votes)
  • Course Level: Scholarships are available to pursue PhD programme.
  • Study Subject: University of Trieste’s Department of Physics offers five lines of research, including:
  • Astrophysics
  • Condensed Matter Physics
  • Medical Physics and Biophysics
  • Nuclear and sub-nuclear Physics
  • Theoretical Physics
  • Scholarship Award: The PhD scholarship is paid in monthly instalments for a total annual amount of € 13,638.47, gross of national insurance contributions to be paid by the student.
  • Number of Scholarships: Thirteen PhD scholarships are available, one of which is funded by ICTP for applicants from developing countries.
  • Scholarship can be taken in Italy


The following criteria must be met in order for applicants to be eligible for the scholarship:

  • Eligible candidates must hold an academic qualification, which can be considered to be equivalent – in terms of duration, level and disciplinary field – to the Italian degree which allows undertaking Ph.D. studies in Italy.
  • Nationality: Scholarships are open to students graduated in foreign universities. Applicants from Developing Countries are eligible to apply for this scholarship programme:
  • Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African, Republic Chad, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea, Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, India, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico,  Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint- Vincent and the Grenadines, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe

How to Apply

  • How to Apply: The mode of application is online.
  • Entrance Requirements: Applicants must have their previous degree.
  • English language Requirements: Adequate proficiency in English language is required.

Application Form

Application Deadline: Closed

Scholarship Link