Home » Blog » Japan Foundation for UNU (JFUNU) programme in Japan, 2020

Japan Foundation for UNU (JFUNU) programme in Japan, 2020

Japan Foundation for UNU (JFUNU) programme in Japan, 2020

The United Nations University is offering sustainability funding for outstanding applicants from developing countries. The studentships are available for undertaking MSc programme at UNU.

The Japan Foundation for UNU (JFUNU) award is available for outstanding applicants from developing countries who can demonstrate a need for financial assistance, and they will be considered as candidates for the award of the program.



  • Award
  • Application Process
  • Clarity of Information


Beneficial offer for students from developing countries to get fund for study in Japan.

User Review
3 (1 vote)

The United Nations University Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability (UNU-IAS) is a leading research and teaching institute based in Tokyo, Japan.

A completed bachelor’s degree (or equivalent) from a recognized university or institution of higher education in a field related to sustainability.  The minimum score requirements for English language qualifications required by UNU-IAS are 600 in TOEFL – Paper-Based Testing (PBT), 100 in TOEFL – Internet-Based Testing (IBT) and 7.0 in IELTS – Academic format.


  • Application deadline: February 28, 2020
  • Course Level: The studentships are available for undertaking the MSc programme at UNU.
  • Study Subject: The studentships are awarded for Master of Science in Sustainability programme.
  • Award: The JFUNU scholarship provides a monthly allowance of 120,000 JPY* for living expenses for a maximum of 24 months. However, travel costs to and from Japan, visa handling fees, and health/accident insurance costs must be covered by the student. The tuition fees are fully waived for the opportunity recipients. The amount of monthly allowance has been changed to 120,000 JPY effective 2017.
  • Nationality: Developing countries
  • Number of Awards: Not given
  • The award can be taken in Japan


  • Eligible Countries:  Afghanistan, Gambia, Mozambique, Bangladesh, The Guinea, Myanmar, Benin, Guinea-Bisau, Nepal, Burkina Faso, Haiti, Niger, Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Cambodia, Korea, Dem Rep., Sierra Leone, Central African Republic, Kyrgyz Republic, Somalia, Liberia, Tajikistan, Comoros, Madagascar, Tanzania, Malawi, Togo, Congo, Dem. Rep, Eritrea, Mali, Uganda, Ethiopia, Mauritania, Zimbabwe, Albania, Indonesia, Samoa, Armenia, India, São Tomé and Principe, Belize, Iraq, Senegal, Bhutan, Kiribati, Solomon Islands, Bolivia, Kosovo, South Sudan, Cameroon, Lao PDR, Sri Lanka, Cape Verde, Lesotho, Sudan, Congo, Rep., Marshall Islands, Swaziland, Côte d’Ivoire, Micronesia, Fed. Sts., Syrian Arab Republic, Djibouti, Moldova, Timor-Leste, Egypt, Arab Rep., Mongolia, Tonga, El Salvador, Morocco, Ukraine, Fiji, Nicaragua, Uzbekistan, Georgia, Nigeria, Vanuatu, Ghana, Pakistan, Vietnam, Guatemala, Papua New Guinea, West Bank and Gaza, Guyana, Paraguay, Yemen, Rep., Honduras, Philippines, Zambia, Angola, Ecuador, Palau, Algeria, Gabon, Panama, American Samoa, Grenada, Peru, Antigua and Barbuda, Iran, Islamic Rep., Romania, Argentina, Jamaica, Russian Federation, Azerbaijan, Jordan, Serbia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Seychelles, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Latvia, South Africa, Botswana, Lebanon, St. Lucia, Brazil, Libya, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Bulgaria, Lithuania, Suriname, Chile, Macedonia, FYR, Thailand, China, Malaysia, Tunisia, Colombia, Maldives, Turkey, Costa Rica, Mauritius, Turkmenistan, Cuba, Mexico, Tuvalu, Dominica, Montenegro and Uruguay
  • Entrance Requirements: Applicants must meet the following criteria:
  1. Applicants must be persons from developing countries* who can demonstrate a need for financial assistance
  2. Applicants who are currently living in Japan under a working visa are not eligible for the opportunity
  3. Applicants who want to pursue a second master’s degree at UNU-IAS are not eligible for the opportunity
  • English Language Requirements: The minimum score requirements for English language qualifications required by UNU-IAS are:
  1. 600 on TOEFL – Paper-Based Testing (PBT) OR
  2. 100 on TOEFL – Internet-Based Testing (IBT) OR
  3. 0 on IELTS – Academic format
  4. International Scholarship

International Scholarship

Application Procedure:

How to Apply: Application must be submitted through the online application form. Applicants will need to create a user account to submit your applications. The online form can be saved and returned to at any time before submitting.

  • ADB-JSP Information Sheet
  • Certificates of the annual income of the applicant
  • Certificate of family income (parent’s’ income if single or income of the spouse if married)

Online Application

Scholarship Link