Home » India Scholarships » PRL Awards, Physical Research Laboratory, India

PRL Awards, Physical Research Laboratory, India

Physical Research Laboratory
(An Autonomous Unit of Department of Space, Govt of India)
Navrangpura, Ahmedabad 380 009, India

Nominations are invited for the prestigious Shri Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr Vikram Sarabhai Research Awards and PRL Award, for 2009. The former awards were established from funds provided by Pujya Shri Mota of Hari Om Ashram of Nadiad, while the latter was instituted from the Aruna Lal Endowment Fund established by Prof. Devendra Lal, Honorary Fellow and former Director of PRL. The awards, given in alternate years, consist of a cash prize of Rs 50,000/- and a medal and will be given to outstanding Indian Scientists, who are below 45 years of age (born on or after 2.1.1964), on 1st January of the award year for their original work in the following fields:

User Review
0 (0 votes)

A. Hari Om Awards, one each in the following four disciplines:
(1) Space Sciences (including Astronomy, Astrophysics, Planetary and Atmospheric Sciences).
(2) Space Applications (in the areas of Meteorology, Hydrology, Remote Sensing and related Ground Truths).
(3) Electronics, Informatics, Telematics and Automation.
(4) Systems Analysis or Management, including non-linear, non-equilibrium systems in natural and social
sciences and technology.’

B. PRL Award, for
Innovative theoretical and or experimental studies in earth and planetary systems, including areas of
oceanography, atmospheric sciences and meteorology.

Although the overall work of the candidates would be taken into account, the work done in India would be given prime consideration. The selections for the year 2009 will be completed by the first quarter of the year 2010 and the awards will be presented on 12 August 2010.

The last date for receiving nominations is 31 December 2009. Nominators are required to send 2 copies of the nomination along with a CD, in the prescribed format, in a cover marked ‘confidential’, addressed to the Director, Physical Research Laboratory, Navrangpura, Ahmedabad 380 009. (The proforma for nomination has been placed at our website http://www.prl.res.in).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *