Home » Masters Scholarships » Open Society Civil Society Leadership Award (CSLA) Program for Fall 2018

Open Society Civil Society Leadership Award (CSLA) Program for Fall 2018

Applications are invited for Civil Society Leadership Awards (CSLA) available for fully funded master’s degree study at universities participating in the CSLA program. Awards are available to individuals who clearly demonstrate academic and professional excellence and a deep commitment to leading positive social change in their communities.

The Open Society Foundation provides modern educational and research environments that will enable students and researchers to face current challenges and to focus on knowledge as a principle driving force for development.

User Review
0 (0 votes)

The Open Society Foundations work to build vibrant and tolerant democracies whose governments are accountable and open to the participation of all people.

Applicants must have proficiency in the language of instruction (English, German, or French) at a level required for admission by partner universities, as evidenced by standardized language test scores.

Course Level: Awards are available for pursuing master degree study at host universities across the world.

Study Subject: Awards are available for study in the following areas:

  • Communications, Journalism & Media
  • Culture, History & Society
  • Development Studies
  • Economics
  • Education Management & Leadership
  • Environment & Natural Resource Management
  • Gender Studies
  • Human Rights
  • Law (including Human Rights law)
  • Politics & International Studies
  • Public Health Policy & Health Management
  • Public Policy & Administration
  • Social Work & Social Policy

Scholarship Award: Successful applicants will receive the following support:

  • Tuition and mandatory university fees;
  • Monthly stipend for room, board, and other living expenses;
  • Program-related travel;
  • Accident and sickness insurance during the program;
  • Funds for educational materials and professional development;
  • Attendance at a regional grantee conference;
  • Pre-academic preparation via summer schools.

Scholarship can be taken in China, France, Hungary, India, Latvia, Netherlands, Poland, Turkey, UK and USA

Eligibility: Applicants must meet all of the following criteria:

  • Be a citizen of an eligible country
  • Demonstrate maturity, flexibility, and civil society leadership potential
  • Have a bachelor’s degree awarded before July 15, 2017 and an excellent academic record
  • Demonstrate professional experience in a relevant area
  • Demonstrate proficiency in the language of instruction (English, German or French) at a level required for admission by host universities
  • Be able to participate in an intensive pre-academic summer school in July or August 2018 and start their degree program in August or September 2018
  • Be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country
  • Demonstrate a clear commitment to return to their home country or region to continue supporting open society development

Nationality: The awards are available to citizens of the following countries: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan Belarus, Cambodia, Democratic Republic of Congo,Egypt,Equatorial Guinea,Eritrea, Ethiopia, Laos, Libya, Myanmar/Burma, Republic of Congo, South Sudan, Sudan,Syria, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.

College Admission Requirement

Entrance Requirements: Applicants must have excellent academic records and an earned bachelor’s degree before applying.

English language Requirements: All applicants who do not have a valid language test score (taken within the past 2 years) and who are invited to an interview will be advised to take a language test in November 2015. You will be advised by program staff of the appropriate test and a timeline for taking the test. For candidates who wish to study at a CSLA host university in the United Kingdom, an IELTS test is mandatory, as the TOEFL is not accepted. Other universities generally accept both IELTS and TOEFL. For universities in France offering study in the French language, semi-finalists will need to have evidence of one of the following tests of French language competence at a satisfactory level: Test de connaissance du français (TCF); Test d’évaluation de français (le TEF); Diplôme d’études en langue française (DELF); or the Diplôme approfondi de langue française (DALF). Exceptions are made for citizens of the Democratic Republic of Congo, as French is recognized as the official language of instruction. For universities in Germany, programs with instruction in English usually accept TOEFL and may recognize IELTS results. For programs with instruction in German, candidates may be requested to take a TestDaf examination.

How to Apply: Electronic applications and all supporting materials should be submitted to csla-at-infoscholar.org by September 15, 2016.

Application Form

Application Deadline: Application deadline is July 15, 2017.

Scholarship Link