Home » Africa Scholarships » South Africa Scholarships » ACU Fully Funded Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships in South Africa, 2018-2019

ACU Fully Funded Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships in South Africa, 2018-2019

The new Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships in South Africa is available on offer to citizens of a Commonwealth country other than South Africa and must not be currently resident in South Africa.

Scholarships are available to pursue Master degree program. The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is an international program under which Commonwealth countries offer scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other member states.

  • Award
  • Application Process
  • Clarity of Information


A worthy choice for Citizen of a Commonwealth country to study in South Africa.

User Review
0 (0 votes)

The Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU) is the world’s first and oldest international university network, established in 1913.

The CSFP was established by Commonwealth education ministers at their first conference in 1959. Since then, Commonwealth Scholarships have become one of the most prestigious and best-known international scholarship schemes. Over 35,000 individuals have benefited.

Brief Description

University or Organization: The Association of Commonwealth Universities
Department: NA
Course Level: Master degree program
Award: varies
Access Mode: Online
Number of Awards: NA
Nationality: Citizen of a Commonwealth country
Application Deadline: Closed
The program can be taken in South Africa Scholarships are tenable at:

  1. North-West University
  2. Rhodes University
  3. Stellenbosch University
  4. University of Cape Town
  5. University of Johannesburg
  6. University of KwaZulu-Natal
  7. University of Pretoria
  8. University of South Africa


Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Applicants must be a citizen of a Commonwealth country other than South Africa and must not be currently resident in South Africa
  • Applicants must hold an Honours degree or a four-year degree, equivalent to NQF 8 on the South African National Qualifications Framework, and with an average mark of at least 70%, and meet the minimum entry criteria of the proposed course of study
  • Applicants must not be a current DHET-supported scholarship recipient
  • Applicants must have applied for the identified study program at the chosen university in South Africa on a full-time basis
  • Applicants’ academic background should be aligned to the proposed field of study
  • See this document for a list of applicable subjects. The scholarships are only tenable in the subjects listed for each university.

South Africa Scholarships

How to Apply

  • How to Apply: First, you must apply for your chosen course directly with the university. Applicants are advised to arrange for their qualifications to be validated by the South African Qualifications Authority before applying to a university. Please submit all the required documents above by email to commonwealthscholarship-at-dhet.gov.za. Separately, download this scholarship application form, and complete it in as much detail as possible.
  • Supporting Documents: To apply, students must be ready to submit the High school certificates, Undergraduate transcripts and graduation certificate, At least one academic reference, Scan of passport or national ID card, Proof of English language ability if English is not your first language, Proof that you have applied for the relevant course at your university of choice, Scientific elements of the proposal.
  • Language Requirements: Applicants from outside the home country will often need to meet specific English language/other language requirements in order to be able to study there.


  1. Four scholarships are available, starting in January/February 2019
  2. The scholarships provide full tuition fees, a return economy flight, an arrival allowance and a regular stipend (living allowance)
  3. The scholarships are for Master’s study only and are not applicable to distance learning courses
  4. The scholarships are for new students only and cannot be used to fund a course you have already started
  5. No additional funding will be provided for applicants with families
  6. Scholarships are for a maximum of two years
  7. Available to citizens of a Commonwealth country other than South Africa and must not be currently resident in South Africa.

Apply Now