Home » Scholarships for Developing Countries Students » ICTP Master of Advanced Studies Scholarships for Developing Countries in Italy, 2021

ICTP Master of Advanced Studies Scholarships for Developing Countries in Italy, 2021

ICTP and the University of Trieste are inviting applications for a scholarship for Master of Advanced Studies in Medical Physics (MMP). This is a two-year advanced training program and open to students from developing countries.

The master’s program is designed to provide young, promising graduates of physics or related fields (mainly from low and medium-income countries) with postgraduate theoretical and clinical training so that candidates may be recognized as Clinical Medical Physicists in their home countries.

  • Award
  • Application Process
  • Clarity of Information


Marvelous Scholarships for Developing Countries.

User Review
0 (0 votes)

The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) is an international research institute for physical and mathematical sciences that operates under a tripartite agreement between the Italian Government, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), and International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

Application Deadline: May 16, 2021


  • Eligible Countries: Pupils from developing countries are eligible to apply:                       Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African, Republic Chad, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea, Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, India, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico,  Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint- Vincent and the Grenadines, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
  • Admissible Criteria: To be eligible for this program you must meet the following requirements:
  • The Master’s Programme is open to young (generally below 30 years of age) qualified graduates from countries that are members of the United Nations, UNESCO or IAEA.
  • Candidates who have received their degree outside Italy must obtain the “Dichiarazione di Valore” from the Italian Embassy in their country, testifying that their curriculum studiorum is equivalent to the Italian “Laurea specialistica”.
  • These are awarded to study a two-year degree program of Master of Advanced Studies in Medical Physics.
  • Curriculum studiorum should comprise 12 years of primary and secondary school and a University degree equivalent to the Italian “Laurea specialistica” – a university study allowing to enter in a Ph.D. program in her/his Country.

Italy Scholarships

How to Apply

  • How to Apply: Individuals wishing to apply for the Master of Advanced Studies in Medical Physics must complete the online application form.
  • Supporting Documents: To apply, students must be ready to submit the CV, a transcription of the university degree and can also submit a letter of recommendation from senior scientists familiar with the applicant. Scientists making recommendations should indicate if they have any contacts at the ICTP.
  • Admission Requirements: To apply for the program applicants must have minimum qualification for applicants is a degree equivalent to an MSc in physics or related fields. The selection of candidates will be based on their university performance, research activity and professional experience in the field. Adequate proficiency in the English language is required. More details on the selection process are here.
  • Language Requirement: Applicants must be fluent in English.


Qualified candidates may attend the course at their own cost.

A limited number of full or partial awards will be awarded to successful candidates from developing countries, thanks to the support of the IAEA, TWAS, and ICTP. Full support includes travel, registration fees and a monthly stipend of 900 euro in the first year and 1000 euro in the second (or a reduced amount if accommodation is provided).

Partial support can be in the form of:

  • Half support: travel, registration fees and a monthly stipend of 450 euro in the first and 500 in the second year
  • Or, only travel and registration fees.

Apply Now