Home » UK Scholarships » University of York Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships in UK, 2020

University of York Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships in UK, 2020

The University of York is providing the Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships for international students in the UK.

The program is open for students who are a citizen of a developing Commonwealth country, refugee, or British protected person. This award is available to study the master’s degree program at the university.

  • Award
  • Application Process
  • Clarity of Information


Great opportunity for students from developing commonwealth countries

User Review
0 (0 votes)

The University of York is a research-intensive plate glass university located in the city of York, England. Established in 1963, the campus university has expanded to more than thirty departments and centres, covering a wide range of subjects.

Why at the University of York? The university offers an extensive range of courses taught by pioneering staff. The combination of its excellent teaching, outstanding facilities, and training and development opportunities will help students to be successful in whatever they want to achieve.

Brief Description

  • University or Organization: University of York
  • Department: NA
  • Course Level: Masters Degree courses
  • Award: The awards are funded by the Department for International Development (DFID)
  • Access Mode: Online
  • Numbers of Award: Ten scholarships are available
  • Nationality: Developing Commonwealth countries
  • Program can be taken in the UK
  • Application Deadline: 13 April 2020, however you must have submitted your University of York application by 30 March 2020.
  • Language: English


  • Eligible Countries: Students from following developing Commonwealth countries can apply for the program. List of Countries: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British), Zambia and Zimbabwe.
  • Eligible Course or Subjects: Grants are available to study the masters degree program in Public Administration.
  • Eligibility Criteria: Applicant must meet the following eligibility criteria:
  • The candidates must hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases are working in or with public organizations, including NGO’s, aid agencies and local/national government departments, and can demonstrate throughout their application that they are working towards the Sustainable Development Goals. Students can dedicate at least 15 hours each week to their studies with a number of study sessions being over 2 hours in length.

How to Apply

  • How to apply: To participate in this program, applicants must have to take admission in the masters degree program at the university. After taking admission candidates can submit an online application form through the given link: http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/distance-learning/
  • Supporting Documents: Applicants must be ready to submit a personal statement, future career plans and home country benefit statements on the Scholarship application form.
  • Admission Requirements: For admission in a masters degree program, applicants must have to include academic qualifications,, academic reference, and any additional relevant experience.
  • Language Requirement: If they’re a non-native English speaking applicant they must provide evidence of their English language ability.

Benefits: The awards themselves are funded by the Department for International Development (DFID).

Apply Now